# Asia-Pacific EPR/ESR Society (APES)

Minutes of the 10<sup>th</sup> General Body Meeting of the Asia Pacific EPR/ESR Society

1<sup>st</sup> September 2016 at Hotel Mayak, Lake Baikal, Listvyanka, Irkutsk, Russia

**Basic Information** 

- The 10<sup>th</sup> APES Council Meeting was held in the evening of 29<sup>th</sup> August 2016 at Hotel Mayak, Lake Baikal, Listvyanka, Irkutsk, Russia. The discussions during this meeting concentrated on the items to be presented at the APES GM and are reflected below.
- The list of participants of the 10<sup>th</sup> GM (General Meeting) is attached at the end of the minutes.
- Agenda for the 10<sup>th</sup> GM of the APES was distributed to the participants before the start of the meeting.
- Prof. S.V. Bhat, President, APES, presided over the GM. Prof. Hitoshi Ohta, current President of IES was invited to join and co-preside over the APES GM.

## 1. Welcome

Prof. Hotoshi Ohta welcomed the members present and requested Prof. S. V. Bhat to conduct the proceedings of the meeting.

Prof. S.V. Bhat after welcoming the members present at the GM briefly described the GM agenda.

#### 2. APES Presidents report

Before taking up the Agenda items, Prof. Bhat requested the members to observe twominutes' silence in memory of late Prof. Graeme Hanson of University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia, an internationally known EPR scientist and a former Vice President of APES.

Prof. Bhat thanked Prof. Elena Bagryaskaya, Chairperson of the APES-2016 Symposium for the excellent organization of the event. The local organizing committee was very helpful in coordinating with the delegates and making very good arrangements for stay and overall organisation of the symposium.

Prof. Bhat informed the gathering that a special issue of the journal: **Resonance- Journal of Science Education**, jointly published by the Indian Academy of Sciences and Springer was recently brought out to mark 70 years of Magnetic Resonance. The issue was guest edited by Prof. S. V. Bhat and Prof. Anil Kumar and contained invited articles on NMR and EPR including an article on 'Zavoisky and the Discovery of EPR' (**RESONANCE**, Vol. 20, pp 963-968, 2015) written by K. M. Salikhov and Nataliya Zavoiskaya. He circulated a few copies of the Journal issue amongst the members of the gathering.

## 3. Reports from regional representatives

On behalf of Dr. Anuradha (representative from India) who could not be present, Prof. Bhat made a brief presentation and observed that a few new EPR spectrometers have been procured in the recent past by some Indian Universities and Institutes. This is welcome development and is expected to lead to an increase in the EPR activity in the country.

Prof. Steve Bottle (representative from Australia and New Zeeland) remarked that ESR/EPR has been a very important research area in Australian Universities.

Dr. Yong Li (representative from China) observed that ESR/EPR activity in China has been increasing in the recent times.

Prof. Tadaaki Ikoma (representative from Japan) informed that there are about 350 members enrolled in Japan for the National Society of ESR and Japan's contribution to the knowledge in the area is significant.

Prof. Hong-In Lee (representative from South Korea) and Prof. Elena Bagryaskaya (representative from Russia) also spoke about the EPR activities in their respective countries.

Dr. Christopher Ambe (representative from Philiphines) informed the gathering that there are no ESR/EPR facilities available in Philiphines at present. A society of spin chemistry is in existence in the country and he is working to expand this society into ESR/EPR domain by taking certain research initiatives.

#### Election of Office Bearers of the APES Council for the term 2017-2018:

Prof. Bhat informed the members that the APES Council in its meeting held on 29 August 2016 has proposed the following office bearers for the APES Council for the period 2017-2018.

President:	Prof. Elena Bagryanskaya
Immediate Past President:	Prof. S. V. Bhat
Advisory Council Members:	
Prof. Hitoshi Ohta (Japan, former Vice President)	
Prof. Czeslaw Rudowicz (Founder President, Poland, formerly Hong Kong)	
Vice Presidents:	Prof. Steve Bottle
	Prof. Ramakrishna Damle
Secretary:	Dr. Sergey Veber

Country Representatives:

Dr. Geffery Harmer (Australia and New Zeeland) Prof. Balachandra G Hegde (India) Prof. Tadaaki Ikoma (Japan) Prof. Matvey Fedin (Russia) Dr. Yong Li (China) Prof. Hong-In Lee (South Korea) Dr. Christopher Ambe (Philiphines) Prof. Bhat requested the opinions of the members of the Society present in the General Meeting on the proposal. There were no counter proposals and the Members of the Society unanimously agreed upon the names proposed for the office bearers of the New Council of APES.

#### Venue for the next APES sysmposium-2018

Steve Bottle of Queensland University of Technology came forward and offered to host the next APES symposium in Australia. The General Body unanimously resolved to accept the proposal and it was decided that the APES -2018 will be held in Australia. The 2020 Symposium was proposed to be held in India.

Prof. Bhat thanked the members for the cooperation he had received during his tenure as the President of APES and invited Prof. Bagyanskaya, the newly elected President to make a few remarks. Prof. Bagryanskaya expressed her gratitude to the members of the APES Council and the members of the Society for the opportunity given to her to serve the Society and hoped that she and the new Council will continue to receive the cooperation of the members in conducting the programmes of the Society.

Prof. Czeslaw Rudowicz remarked that the 2018 APES Symposium would be of a special nature as the Society notionally completes 20 years then. In this context, it would be appropriate to celebrate it in a special way. To this end members suggested that a committee be formed consisting of the following members to chalk out programs befitting the occasion.

Prof. S.V. Bhat Prof. Hiroshi Ohta Prof. Elena Bagryanskaya Prof. Czeslaw Rudowicz

The meeting concluded with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

## List of members present in the General Meeting of APES-2016

- 1. Hitoshi Ohta
- 2. S. V. Bhat
- 3. Czeslaw Rudowicz
- 4. Ramakrishna Damle
- 5. Christopher Ambe
- 6. Steven Bottle
- 7. Elena Bagryanskaya
- 8. Yong Li
- 9. Hong-In Lee
- 10. Tadaaki Ikoma

- 19. Haijum Yang
- 20. Hiroshi Hirata
- 21. Susumu Takahashi
- 22. Mikhail Artyomov
- 23. Laila Mosina
- 24. Vladimir Nadolinny
- 25. Andrey Fukhanov
- 26. Hiroyuki Mino
- 27. Fumitoshi Ema
- 28. Hidevuki Hara

- 11. Matvey Fedin
- 12. Debamalya Banerjee
- 13. Hroki Nagashima
- 14. Toshikazu Nakamura
- 15. Andrei Fokin
- 16. Susumu Okubo
- 17. Maxim Yulikov
- 18. Tsubasa Okamoto

- 29. Tomoaki Miura
- 30. Mizue Asada
- 31. Michal Kozanecki
- 32. Alexey Semenov
- 33. Sergei Dzuba
- 34. Tamara Vakulskaya
- 35. Graham Smith